Southwest Basin Roundtable

The Southwest Basin is located in the southwest corner of Colorado and covers an area of approximately 10,169 square miles. The largest cities within the basin are Durango (pop. 15,213) and Cortez (pop. 8,328). The region also includes five ski areas: Telluride, Wolf Creek, Durango Mountain Resort, Kendall Mountain, and Hesperus. The Southwest Basin is projected to increase in municipal and industrial (M&I) water demand between 17,000 acre feet (AF) and 27,000 AF by 2050 with passive conservation included.

Visit the Southwest Basin Roundtable Website

Upcoming Basin Roundtable Meeting:

April 25, 2024
3:00PM - 6:00PM

View Details



  • Ensure endangered species’ needs do not negatively impact future in-basin uses
  • Address compact delivery impacts to existing and future in-basin water rights
  • Address potential agricultural firming needs
  • Ensure adequate water for future needs
    • M&I
    • Agricultural
    • Environmental
    • Recreational


MeetingsBi-monthly, alternating between Durango and Cortez

Chair: Ed Tolen

Vice-Chairs: Brandon Johnson  

IBCC Representatives:  Steve Wolff & Ken Curtis

Recorder: Wendy Weygandt

Roundtable Governance

There are currently 35 voting members of the Southwest BRT

Member List

Basin By-laws


Navajo Reservoir by Dustin Doskocil, CPW

Recent Roundtable Meetings

Meeting DateMeeting Materials
October 2023Minutes
July 2023Minutes
April 2023Minutes
January 2023Minutes

Contact the Southwest BRT

Chairperson and WSRF Contact: Edward Tolen

Phone #: 970-563-0320